Community Cricket Celebrated At Junior Awards
20 February 2014  

Approximately 150 people attended Wednesday night’s WACA Junior Awards at the Boundary Room with Bicton Junior Cricket Club taking out the Len Pavy Award for Club of the Year.

The evening celebrated the big season of community cricket and recognised some of the fantastic volunteers, teachers and clubs.

Perth Scorchers and Alcohol.Think Again Western Warriors pair Sam Whiteman and Ashton Agar, along with Alcohol. Think Again Western Fury youngster Melissa Cameron were also in attendance for a humorous Q&A session.

Junior cricketers who had represented their club from the "have a go" days through to finishing Under-17's cricket were awarded a medallion of service to community cricket. A total of 51 were awarded on the night to a standing ovation.

The Sunday 2 March T20 Community Cup Final to be played at the WACA Ground as the first game in a triple-header was also previewed, with interviews done with both captains and coaches from Warwick-Greenwood and Shoalwater; Joel Richie, James Eccles, Doug Hamilton and Peter Richie respectively.

There were many awards given out on the night, with Bicton JCC president Damien Eves there on the night to accept the prestigious Club of the Year award from former Junior Management Board chairman Len Pavy.

South Perth JCC and Warwick/Greenwood JCC won the CJCC Spirit of Cricket awards for south and north respectively.

Rod McKenzie from Sorrento/Duncraig was awarded the Co-ordinator of the Year, while Armadale Cricket Club’s Warren Francis won the Community Coach of the Year.

Nuria Ushoroff (AIC) and Cliff Taylor (Success PS) won the School Ambassadors of the Year awards.