Mount Gambier To Host 2016 ACCC
30 March 2015  

Cricket Australia has announced that Mount Gambier in regional South Australia will host the 2016 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships. 

The male division will feature six teams, including Western Australia, New South Wales, South Australia, Queensland, Victoria and the ICC East Asia Pacific (Fiji, Vanuatu, and PNG) and will be played from 3-11 January 2016. 

For the first time ever a female division will also feature at the Championships, following a successful exhibition match at this year’s event. 

The annual tournament was first held in 1984-85 and next year’s championships will be the third time that Mount Gambier has hosted the event. Next year’s presentation dinner will also feature the inaugural Hall of Fame induction.

Teams will play two-day, one-day and Twenty20 matches across the week-long championships, with Queensland looking to defend its title won in Bendigo earlier this year.

WA narrowly missed out to Queensland in 2014, having been the reigning champions after triumphing in Canberra in 2013.

Cricket Australia (CA) Executive General Manager of Game and Market Development Andrew Ingleton said the Championships provide an important opportunity for regional cricketers.

"The Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships is central in acknowledging and celebrating the significance of country cricket. 

"Country cricket is a tremendous breeding ground for talented young players and it continues to produce players who progress to the next level of the Australian Cricket Pathway. 

"Regional Australia plays a critical role in Australia’s success on the international stage, with a number of our national male and female players having first learned the game in regional areas throughout Australia. 

"This Championship has featured a number of players who have gone onto represent Australia, including Michael Bevan, Andy Bichel and Shaun Tait.”