WA Misses Out On Country Title
11 January 2016  

Western Australia has missed out on lifting the 2015-16 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships title after a final round loss to newly crowned champions South Australia.

The winner of the WA-SA clash was always likely to be crowned champions on Monday at the Mount Gambier event, with the two states sitting atop the table heading into the final round.

WA won the toss and elected to bat, but stumbled to be all out for 126 from less than 40 overs.

Jono Whitney top scored with an unbeaten 54, but wickets fell around him and he was unable to build a partnership.

Early wickets from Hayden Burling and Matthew Jenkinson gave WA hope early, reducing SA to 2-18.

SA opener Ben Smith steadied the ship with 53, but WA kept on taking wickets to keep the pressure on.

Patrick Butler and Julian Crudeli both finished with two wickets each, but SA finished the job six wickets down to clinch the title.

With Victoria and Queensland winning elsewhere, WA eventually finished fourth.