WA Squad Confirmed For U19 Nationals
18 November 2016  

Western Australia’s 13-player squad for next month’s Under-19’s National Cricket Championships in Adelaide has been confirmed.

The tournament is due to run from Monday 5 December to Thursday 15 December with WA hoping to improve on last year’s effort where they lost to New South Wales Metropolitan in the qualifying rounds after finishing third in their pool.

Willetton’s Aaron Hardie will skipper the side with University talent Sean Stuart to be his vice-captain.

Hardie captained WA at last year’s Under-17’s Nationals, where he made 145 runs at an average of 29 and took nine wickets.

Stuart along with Subiaco Floreat all-rounder and Alcohol.Think Again Western Warriors rookie Cameron Green are the only two members from last year’s squad.

Wanneroo’s Matthew Spoors and Claremont-Nedlands’ Brad Hope were both named in last year’s Under-17’s team of the tournament and played with the Cricket Australia XI in the subsequent Under-19’s carnival in November last year.

Spoors, who won last year’s Media Guild Under-17 Player of the Year Award, represented WA in October in the second tier Toyota Futures League, making 61 on debut.

WA gets its tournament underway on Monday 5 December against Victoria Country.

Full squad: Aaron Hardie (c) (Willetton), Aaron Burrage (Rockingham-Mandurah), Josh Chojnowski (Fremantle), Darius D’Silva (South Perth), Cameron Green (Subiaco Floreat), Brad Hope (Claremont-Nedlands), Liam Knight (Scarborough), Daniel Moore (University), Lance Morris (Scarborough/South West), Connor Smith (Wanneroo), Matthew Spoors (Wanneroo), Rex Strickland (South Perth), Sean Stuart (vc) (University)

Follow the tournament via MyCricket