Stars Of The Future Strive For Glory
29 November 2016  

The Western Australian Cricket Association has today announced its squad for the upcoming Cricket Australia National Under-15 Female Championships in Canberra from 18-24 January 2017.

The squad includes players from all parts of WA, from the Wheatbelt to the Pilbara and Mandurah.

WA has enjoyed a spike in talent in recent years, with Emma Davidson, Zoe Britcliffe and Georgia Platten among the state’s most promising cricketers for the future.

Davidson, a senior all-rounder of the squad, is an exciting fast bowler, powerful batter and strong performer in the field.

Britcliffe is a state soft baller who is new to the Under-15 program, with the Pilbara product a tall athletic fast bowler and lively fielder.

At just 13, Platten will be competing in her second Under-15 Championships, she is a consistent run scorer in senior cricket and will be looking to score plenty of runs in Canberra.

Head Coach Orazio Santalucia said the young team was full of potential.

"There are six girls who return from last season’s squad who won two matches at last year’s tournament," Santalucia said.

"The team has really developed well over the program and there was a lot of selection pressure in naming the final squad.

"The new additions add some good depth and talent, with a top four finish is a definite possibility.

"There is also a big chance some of our girls will be putting their hand up for National Development squad selection if they perform to their potential."

The Cricket Australia U15 Female National Championships includes a mix of 40 over matches and T20 matches.

Eastern State teams have dominated the competition since its inception in 2001-02, with New South Wales having claimed 10 of the 14 titles, while Queensland and Victoria have shared the other four.

WA State Female Under 15 team:
Emma West – Rockingham Mandurah District Cricket Club
Emma Davidson – Whitfords / Midland Guildford District Cricket Club
Georgia Wyllie – South Perth
Molly Healy – South Perth Junior Cricket Club
Courtney Holt – Goldfields
Gorgia Platten – Melville
Samantha Quadrio – Wembley / Subiaco
Darcie Brichall – Whitfords
Zoe Britcliffe – Pilbara
Ayla Meintjes - Midland Guildford District Cricket Club
Ella Mills – Melville / Wheatbelt
Madeline Gardiner - Midland Guildford District Cricket Club
Millie Monaghan – Wembley

Jacqueline Naidoo – Wembley
Olivia Bunter - Wembley