WA Country Squads Confirmed
6 December 2016  

Western Australia’s male and female squads have been named for the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships in Wollongong.

WA’s male side will aim for its first title since 2014, while the females will compete in the national carnival for the second time ever.

The tournament commences in Wollongong from Tuesday 3 January to Wednesday 11 January 2017.

Michael Thistle will coach the males, with South West’s Jono Whitney taking over as skipper from Rodney Ford. The side will play 10 games; five T20s and five 50-over games.

Karol Guglielmana will coach the females, with Bunbury’s Meg Thompson the captain and her deputy being Mid-West’s Lauren Mainwaring, who made last year’s team of the tournament. The side will play six T20s before the finals.

WA male squad: Patrick Butler (Midland-Guildford/Great Southern), Cruize Ciallella (Colts/South West), Nathan Crudeli (Railways/Great Southern), Julian Crudeli (Railways/South West), Kendal Ballard (Cuballing/Upper Great Southern), Zane Marwick (Railways/Great Southern), Mitchell Jackson (Melville/Great Southern), Kalan Joyce (Kukerin-Dumbleyung/Upper Great Southern), Andrew Peckover (Singleton Irwinians/Peel), Joshua Petersen (Halls Head/Peel), Arron Quartermaine (Harrismith-Dudinin/Upper Great Southern), Corey Rutgers (Karratha Kats/Pilbara), Jono Whitney (c) (Hay Park/South West), Jeremy Wood (Railways/Great Southern)

WA female squad: Hannah Biddulph (Cowaramup/South West), Melinda Knox (Broome Ladies/Kimberley), Lauren Mainwaring (vc) (South Perth/Mid West), Sarah Prickett (Geraldton Sunset Scorchers/Mid West), Georgie Middleton (Melville/Great Southern), Kavita Pepper (University/Mid West), Jazmyne Roberts (Rockingham-Mandurah/South West), Mel Saunders (Rockingham-Mandurah/Peel), Meg Thompson (c) (Melville/South West), Kayla Van Spall (Midland-Guildford/Wheatbelt), Chloe Wain (South Perth/South West), Samara Williams (University/Great Southern), Chelsea Winchcombe (University/South West)