Perth To Host Third Ashes Test In 2017
13 December 2016  

Ashes history will next year be made in Western Australia, with either the WACA Ground hosting its final Australia-England Test Match for the foreseeable future, or Perth Stadium hosting its first clash between international cricket’s most fierce rivals.

Western Australian cricket fans will once again have the opportunity to potentially see an Ashes series decided in Perth after today’s announcement by Cricket Australia that the state will host next season’s Third Test from 14-18 December 2017.

The venue for the match will be determined at a later stage and based on the readiness or otherwise of Perth Stadium.

Perth last hosted an Ashes Test in the 2013-14 series, holding the Third Test which resulted in a 150-run win and unassailable 3-0 series lead for Australia, which went on to whitewash the series 5-0.

It was a match and series that had WA’s adopted son Mitchell Johnson return to his menacing best with match figures of 6-140, including 4-78 in the second innings.

Johnson took a remarkable 37 wickets for 517 runs across the five-match series.

Cricket Australia also announced Perth would host the fifth One Day International between the sides on 28 January 2018, with the venue for that match also unconfirmed.

Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland said: "We recognise how big the Ashes is for both home and travelling fans, and the early announcement of the schedule for this series will allow fans here in Australia and abroad to plan their Ashes summer.

"This schedule will allow for at least three Sheffield Shield matches to be completed as preparation prior to the first Ashes Test in Brisbane.

"The decision to start the international season in Brisbane, then moving to Adelaide, allows us to give Perth Stadium the best chance to host the Test match, so we can welcome an even bigger crowd to Perth next summer.”

Public tickets for the Ashes Series will not go on sale until next year.

The Australian Women’s Cricket Team will also host a home Ashes series next season, with that schedule and venues to be confirmed in due course.

2017-18 Men’s Ashes Series
First Test – Australia v England, Gabba - 23-27 November 2017
Second Test – Australia v England, Adelaide Oval (Day-Night) - 2-6 December 2017
Third Test – Australia v England, Perth (venue TBC) - 14-18 December 2017
Fourth Test – Australia v England, MCG - 26-30 December 2017
Fifth Test – Australia v England, SCG - 4-8 January 2018

2017-18 One-Day International Series against England
First ODI – Australia v England, MCG – 14 January 2018
Second ODI – Australia v England, Gabba – 19 January 2018
Third ODI – Australia v England, SCG – 21 January 2018
Fourth ODI – Australia v England, Adelaide Oval – 26 January 2018
Fifth ODI – Australia v England, Perth (venue TBC) – 28 January 2018