WA Set For Country Championships
2 January 2017  

Western Australia’s male and female sides are set to launch their campaigns at the 2017 Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships which begin in Wollongong on Tuesday.

The men’s division - featuring six teams - will begin tomorrow, featuring one-day and T20 matches, with the seven-team women’s division to begin on Friday in a T20 format.

WA plays New South Wales at North Dalton Park from 7am (WST) on Tuesday in the men's division, while WA doesn't get underway until Saturday in the women's division.

South Australia will be looking to defend their title in the men’s division, the state’s first-ever Country Championships title win, while East Asia-Pacific won the inaugural women’s title and will be looking to make it two-from-two.

The women’s division will be decided by a final on January 11, with the top team in the men’s division following the 10th and final round of matches on January 11 to be declared the champions.

CA Executive General Manager, Game and Market Development Andrew Ingleton said: "The Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships are an outstanding opportunity for regional Australia’s best male and female cricketers to showcase their cricketing abilities.

"With a rich history spanning more than 30 years, the championships have helped to produce many exceptional cricketers, including former Australian international representatives Andy Bichel and Shaun Tait.

"This is now the second year with a women's division at the championships. It is pleasing to see the number of teams grow this year, and we look forward to seeing what is already a strong standard of cricket continue to improve.

"This tournament is an important part of the cricketing pathway. We hope this opportunity will inspire our country cricketers - those playing this year, and those who aspire to play in the future - to play at the highest level of competition they can.

"We look forward to seeing the teams take to some outstanding facilities in Wollongong, and we thank Cricket New South Wales, Wollongong City Council, Cricket Illawarra and its clubs, and all involved who will ensure this year’s event is a success.”

To follow all the action during the 2017 Commonwealth Bank Australia Country Cricket Championships, visit www.countrychamps.com.au, or follow @CAPathway on Twitter, using the hashtag #CountryChamps17

WA male squad: Patrick Butler (Midland-Guildford/Great Southern), Cruize Ciallella (Colts/South West), Nathan Crudeli (Railways/Great Southern), Julian Crudeli (Railways/South West), Kendal Ballard (Cuballing/Upper Great Southern), Zane Marwick (Railways/Great Southern), Mitchell Jackson (Melville/Great Southern), Kalan Joyce (Kukerin-Dumbleyung/Upper Great Southern), Andrew Peckover (Singleton Irwinians/Peel), Joshua Petersen (Halls Head/Peel), Arron Quartermaine (Harrismith-Dudinin/Upper Great Southern), Corey Rutgers (Karratha Kats/Pilbara), Jono Whitney (c) (Hay Park/South West), Jeremy Wood (Railways/Great Southern) 

WA female squad: Hannah Biddulph (Cowaramup/South West), Melinda Knox (Broome Ladies/Kimberley), Lauren Mainwaring (vc) (South Perth/Mid West), Sarah Prickett (Geraldton Sunset Scorchers/Mid West), Georgie Middleton (Melville/Great Southern), Kavita Pepper (University/Mid West), Jazmyne Roberts (Rockingham-Mandurah/South West), Mel Saunders (Rockingham-Mandurah/Peel), Meg Thompson (c) (Melville/South West), Kayla Van Spall (Midland-Guildford/Wheatbelt), Chloe Wain (South Perth/South West), Samara Williams (University/Great Southern), Chelsea Winchcombe (University/South West)