WA Duo Named In Australian Country XII
13 January 2017  

Western Australian duo Jono Whitney and Julian Crudeli have been named in the Australian Country XII following the Commonwealth Bank Australian Country Cricket Championships which concluded in Wollongong this week.

WA finished fifth in the men’s division and seventh in the women’s division in a disappointing carnival, but the selection of Whitney and Crudeli provided a highlight.

Skipper Whitney, who plays for Hay Park in Bunbury, scored 303 runs from 10 games.

Railways product Crudeli scored 305 runs across 10 games and claimed 16 wickets.

WA finished with a 2-8 record in the overall men’s division, while the side went winless in the women’s division.

To follow all the action during the 2017 Commonwealth Bank Australia Country Cricket Championships, visit www.countrychamps.com.au, or follow @CAPathway on Twitter, using the hashtag #CountryChamps17

Men’s division awards


Overall champions: QLD Country

One-day title: NSW Country

T20 title: QLD Country


Player of the Championships: Ben Pengelley (SA Country) – 30 points

Don Bradman batting award: Ben Pengelley (SA Country) – 349 runs at 48.86

Bill O’Reilly bowling award: Tom Mathieson (VIC Country) – 20 wickets at 12.80

Doug Walters fielding award: Joe Brown (SA Country)

Ian Healy wicket-keeping award: Tony Hampson (QLD Country)

Spirit of Cricket: East Asia-Pacific


Australian Country XII: Nathan Walsh (VIC), Jordan Moran (NSW), Michael Allen (VIC), Ben Pengelley (SA), Jono Whitney (WA), James Spargo (QLD), Pat Darwen (NSW), Julian Crudeli (WA), Tony Hampson (QLD, wk, capt), Sam Winton (QLD), Tom Mathieson (VIC), Ben Boyd (VIC). Coach: Lenny Martin (QLD). Manager: Shane Turner (QLD).


Women’s division awards


Overall champions: East Asia-Pacific


Player of the Championships: Rebecca Cady (NSW Country) – 16 points

Batting award: Brittany Perry (SA Country) – 228 runs at 76

Bowling award: Cara Fiebig (SA Country) – 13 wickets, incl. a hat-trick

Fielding award: Hannah Clarke (QLD Country)

Wicket-keeping award: Jordan Doecke (SA Country)

Spirit of Cricket: SA Country


Australian Country XII: Brittany Perry (SA), Julie Page (NT), Stephanie Townsend (VIC), Lisa Griffith (NSW), Norma Ovasuru (EAP), Pauke Siaka (EAP, capt), Rebecca Cady (NSW, wk), Chelsea Moscript (VIC), Cara Fiebig (SA), Konio Oala (PNG), Sharni Tansell (SA), Eliza Flynn (QLD). Coaches: Eddie Mansale and Bebe Miyaji (EAP). Manager: Jane Livesey (EAP).