WA Ready For U15 Female Nationals
17 January 2017  

Australia’s future stars will be in the spotlight when the Cricket Australia Under-15 Female National Championships begins in Canberra on Wednesday.

The best junior talent from around Australia will feature across eight sides, with teams from ACT/NSW Country, Queensland, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Western Australia and Victoria – the latter entering both a County and Metropolitan team for the first time in the competition’s history.

The competition will see each side play the others, once, over the course of the competition, with three 40-over matches and four Twenty20s scheduled ahead of a Finals day on Tuesday 24 January.

Cricket Australia Female High Performance Manager, Shawn Flegler said the Championships will provide the most talented youngsters in the country the opportunity to play at the highest level in their age group and continue their journey in the Australian Cricket Pathway.

"This age group is really important in the Australian Cricket Player Pathway and we’ve seen recently the number of incredibly talented young players breaking into domestic teams, including Annabel Sutherland who became the youngest player to play in the Rebel WBBL, and 15-year-old Rachel Trenaman who represented the Governor-General’s XI in November.”

National selectors will also be keeping a close eye on proceedings, with the most outstanding players at the conclusion of the tournament to be invited to remain in Canberra to take part in a three-day training camp.

The camp will focus on skill development and provide various match scenarios, whilst players will also get the chance to tour the Australian Institute of Sport.

"This is an exciting opportunity for these players to gain some additional coaching and spend some more time out in the middle putting their skills to the test.”

The camp will also give selected players another chance to press for selection for the Under 15 Development squad that will spend time honing their skills at the Bupa National Cricket Centre later this year.

In what promises to be a very memorable championship, each team will have the opportunity to play on the beautiful Manuka Oval and experience the thrill that comes with playing at a first-class venue.

Western Australia squad: Darcie Birchall, Zoe Britcliffe, Emma Davidson, Madeline Gardiner, Molly Healy, Courtney Holt, Ayla Meintjes, Ella Mills, Millie Monaghan, Gorgia Platten, Samantha Quadrio, Emma West, Georgia Wyllie.

For full fixtures and results, please visitwww.nationalchamps.com.au.