WA Crowned Deaf & Hard Of Hearing Division Champs
22 January 2017  

Western Australia has claimed its first Deaf and Hard of Hearing National Championship (Webby’s Cup) title breaking a 40-year drought, defeating Victoria in the Grand Final at the 2017 National Cricket Inclusion Championships today.

With six wickets and eight balls to spare, Western Australia chased down Victoria’s total of 143 at Winter Reserve in Belmont.

Western Australia won the toss, sending the Victorians in and picking up two early wickets with the ball.

But Victoria captain Steven Cardamone (27 runs) and Tony Barulovski (36) led the revival, as their side reached 100 with six wickets in the sheds.

There was another twist though, with the West Australian bowlers bouncing back, dismissing the Victorians for 143 off the final ball of the innings.

James Tsalakos picked up 4-20, including three wickets in the final over, while Matt Shenton made an important contribution of 3-23.

Shenton’s blistering 37 off 25 balls turned the game in Western Australia’s favour, with Syed Shah Rukh (31) and James Johnston (33*) playing important roles with the bat to see the team from the west claim the championship.

Earlier in the day, New South Wales defeated South Australia by seven wickets in the third-place playoff.

Kym Daley’s unbeaten 73 off just 45 balls saw New South Wales chase down South Australia’s total of 4-124 inside 14 overs. Justin Millard was the pick of the SA batsmen, carrying his bat for 57 runs.

Two matches were also played today in the Blind and Vision Impaired Division.

An incredible individual performance from Lindsay Heaven led New South Wales to victory against Victoria.

Victoria compiled 6-201 off 20 overs, on the back of half-centuries from Ned Brewer-Maiga (78) and Brendan Spencer (58).

But Heaven smashed 99 not out off just 55 balls, leading his side to a one-wicket win.

The combined South Australia/Western Australia side defeated Queensland/ACT by nine wickets in the other match.

Queensland/ACT posted 0-190, with Cory Heberley scoring 113 not out and Matt Kent contributing 67 not out.

However, half centuries from Steffan Nero (62 retired hurt) and Mark Haskett (61*) guided South Australia/Western Australia to victory.

Matches continue tomorrow for the Blind and Vision Impaired Division, ahead of the Grand Final on Tuesday.

Scores in brief

Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Final: Victoria 143 all out off 20 overs (T. Barulovski 36, S. Cardamone 27, J. Tsakalos 4-20, M. Shenton 3-23) def by Western Australia 4-144 off 18.4 overs (M. Shenton 37, J. Johnston 33*, S. Shah Rukh 31)

3rd place playoff: South Australia 4-124cc off 19 overs (J. Millard 57*) def by New South Wales 3-129 off 13.5 overs (K. Daley 74*)

Blind and Vision Impaired

Victoria 6-201cc off 20 overs (N. Brewer-Maiga 78, B. Spencer 58, S. Fitzpatrick 2-33) def by New South Wales 9-202 off 19.3 overs (L. Heaven 99*, D. Pritchard 4-32)

Queensland/ACT 0-190cc off 19 overs (C. Heberley 113*, M. Kent 67*) def by South Australia/Western Australia 1-191 off 17.1 overs (S. Nero 62 ret hurt, M. Haskett 61*, B. Brider 29*)