WA/SA Wins Blind & Vision Impaired NCIC Title
24 January 2017  

Credit: Cameron Grimes

The combined South Australia/Western Australia team have claimed the Blind and Vision Impaired national title, defeating Victoria in the Grand Final at the 2017 National Cricket Inclusion Championships in Geelong today.

South Australia/Western Australia cruised to victory at McDonald Reserve, chasing down Victoria’s total without losing a wicket and with more than three overs to spare.

Victoria batted first after sneaking through to the final, having been sent in by the ladder-leaders.

Openers Daniel Pritchard (79) and Ned Brewer-Maiga (54 retired hurt) set a strong foundation for Victoria, as their side scored 2-183 from 20 overs.

But the South Australia/Western Australia openers were equal to the task.

South Australian duo Ricky Segura and Stephen Palmer batted right through the innings, chasing down the total in 16.3 overs.

Segura (83 not out) and Palmer (79 not out) were brilliant with the bat, putting in a clinical display to lead their side to victory and the national championship title.

Scores in brief

Blind and Vision Impaired- Grand Final

Victoria 2-183cc off 20 overs(D. Pritchard 79, N. Brewer-Maiga 54 rt hurt) def by South Australia/Western Australia 0-184 off 16.3 overs (R. Segura 83*, S. Palmer 79*)