WA Quartet Earn Black Caps
13 February 2017  

Western Australian quartet Kavita Pepper, Keren Ugle, Dane Ugle and Hugh Sando have been named in the women’s and men’s Black Caps squads following their strong performances at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC).

The tournament in Alice Springs concluded on Monday, with WA finishing fourth in the women’s division with a 1-3 record and fifth in the men’s division with a 3-3 record.

Pepper was named in the women’s Black Caps after taking five wickets in five games at an average of 12.4 and with an economy rate of 3.65.

Keren Ugle finished as the second leading wicket-taker in the men’s division, with 12 scalps at 12.75, while he also managed 114 runs with the bat.

Brother Dane was the fourth top scorer in the men’s division, with 172 runs at an average of 34.40 and two half-centuries.

Sando was 10th on the scorers’ list with 147 runs at an average of 36.75.


2017 Women’s Black Caps Squad:

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW), Roxsanne Van-Veen (NSW), Carmella Gray (NT), Nicole Honeysett (NT), Carly Fuller (QLD), Shaye Easton (QLD), Sara Darney (NSW), Sally Moylan (NT), Tamika Hansen (QLD), Kavita Pepper (WA), Jemma Astley (NSW), Julie Muir (NSW)

2017 Men’s Black Caps Squad:

Preston White (QLD), Ben Abbatangelo (VIC), Nathan Price (NSW), Dane Ugle (WA), Adam McDermott (QLD), Hugh Sando (WA), Zac Chapman (NT), Ben Mitchell (NSW), Keren Ugle (WA), Rhys Ward (TAS), Djali Bloomfield (NSW), Worrin Williams (QLD)