Fremantle Wins Statewide T20 Flag
20 February 2017  

Fremantle team-mates celebrate a wicket // John Sherry

Fremantle have claimed their second piece of silverware for the season after defeating Peel Cricket Association by five wickets in the Statewide T20 Grand Final at the WACA Ground on Sunday.

Chris Davenport hit the winning runs in style, with a six off Ian Bowes with 16 balls to spare, to follow up Fremantle’s Premier T20 title earlier last month.

The Port Boys remain in the hunt for more honours, having qualified for the One Day League Grand Final and currently sitting second on the Alcohol.Think Again Premier Cricket ladder.

Sunday’s triumph came after a semi-final win over the WA Suburban Turf Cricket Association by eight wickets (WASTCA) at Fletcher Park earlier in the day.

Peel also got past the WA Aboriginal XI by 17 runs to secure their spot in the decider.

Peel skipper Josh Petersen won the toss in the grand final, opting to bat first, with his side amassing 7-112 from their 20 overs.

Petersen top scored with 25no, while Anuj Dal blasted three boundaries in his knock of 17 which helped Peel recover from 3-19.

Tom Abell (2-23) and Ross Macauley (2-18) were the best with the ball for Freo.

Opening bowler Grant Coles dismissed Dan Kennedy for a duck as the Port Boys started poorly, but Jake Carder rallied with 34 off 30 balls.

Abell (13) and Brayden Sutton (6) fell around Carder, who saw his side slump to 4-66 in the 11th over upon his dismissal, with the impressive Jesse Buck taking 2-16.

Davenport took over, with a match-winning 41no from 32 balls which included three fours and two sixes to ease Freo to victory.

Full scorecard