The Contenders For The 2016-17 Karen Read Medal
5 April 2017  

The 2016-17 Karen Read Medal winner will be announced on Wednesday night at Western Australian women’s club cricket’s night of nights at the WACA Ground.

The Karen Read Medal is awarded to the best women’s player, based on 3-2-1 votes for all regular season rounds of the A Grade T20 and 50-over competitions.

Among the favourites for the Karen Read Medal are Midland-Guildford’s Chloe Piparo, Bhavisha Devchand and Beth Dawson, South Perth’s Melissa Cameron and Heather Siegers, Melville’s Renee Chappell and University’s Tansi Price.

Follow @WACA_Cricket or the hashtag #KRMedal on Twitter on Wednesday night to follow proceedings.

Piparo appears the overwhelming favourite after comfortably topping both the 50-over and T20 competition’s scoring charts with 432 and 271 runs respectively.

The 22-year-old batter scored two centuries and averaged 216 in 50-over cricket, along with three half-centuries at an average of 136.5 in T20 cricket. She only played eight games which draw votes overall which may work against her.

Swans team-mate Devchand is firmly in contention too after finishing second top scorer in the 50-over competition with 217 runs, along with topping the T20 wicket-taker’s list with 11 scalps at 9.18.

Beth Dawson was Midland-Guildford’s leading wicket-taker and looms large after claiming 23 wickets across both formats.

Fellow Swans Taneale Peschel, Caitlin Couch and Sheldyn Cooper all performed strongly at times and may also take votes off Piparo.

South Perth’s Melissa Cameron is a contender after finishing third on the T20 scoring charts with 194 runs while she claimed eight wickets in 50-over cricket for the minor premiers.

Fellow Sky Blue Siegers was the side’s top scorer across both competitions, with 170 and 137 runs in 50-over and T20 competitions respectively.

Melville veteran Chappell claimed plenty of wickets across both formats, finishing with 27 dismissals overall, including topping the 50-over charts. She also amassed 155 T20 runs and is a big chance.

Uni’s Price impressed to finish joint runner-up for most wickets in the T20 competition with nine scalps. She also made 163 and 130 runs in the 50-over and T20 competitions respectively to be a dark horse.