WA Pair Named In Australia U16s
3 April 2017  

The selected Under-16's squad // Brody Grogan

Western Australian duo Michael Herbst and Ewan Nielson have been named in Cricket Australia’s Under-16’s squad, following the conclusion of the School Sport Australia 15 & Under Boys National Championship in Queensland.

The 14-player squad features some of the best talent from the tournament, as selected by the Youth Selection Panel, plus four standby players, including WA’s Jayden Goodwin.

Melville talent Nielson was WA’s leading wicket-taker at the championships with eight wickets from four games including a five-wicket haul against ACT.

Wanneroo’s Herbst claimed four wickets in four games with an average of 18.25 and economy rate of 2.52.

South West product Goodwin, the son of former WA and Zimbabwe batsman Murray, was WA’s top scorer with 152 runs.

Cricket Australia’s National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said: "It was really pleasing to see the amount of talent on display at the championship this year, and there was some really good cricket played throughout the week.

"The selection of this team was a challenging one, as there was such a good spread of talent across all teams and plenty of competition for places. That said, we are really pleased with final result of the selection process, and the quality of talent within this Australia Under 16s squad.

"This squad will form the Cricket Australia XI for next summer’s Under 17 National Championships, and we look forward to these players testing themselves against an older age group at a higher level of competition.”

An international series for this Australia Under 16s squad is yet to be confirmed, but likely to be in early 2018.

New South Wales is the best-represented state with five players in the squad, while South Australia (three), Queensland (two), Victoria (two) and Western Australia (two) are also represented.

Australia U16s Squad

Kyle Brazell, South Australia

Jake Fraser McGurk, Victoria

Michael Herbst, Western Australia

Mac Jenkins, New South Wales

Brock Larance, New South Wales

Jet Liebke, Queensland

Ewan Nielson, Western Australia

Mitchell Pascoe, Queensland

Yash Pednekar, Victoria

Samuel Rahaley, South Australia

Suraj Rajesh, South Australia

Tanveer Sangha, New South Wales

Hugh Sherriff, New South Wales

Brad Simpson, New South Wales

Standby players: William Collins (Tasmania), Jayden Goodwin (Western Australia), Campbell Griffiths (Victoria), William Prestwidge (Queensland)