The Contenders For The 2016-17 Olly Cooley Medal
6 April 2017  

Last year's Olly Cooley Medal winners Stewart Walters & Brendon Diamanti

The Western Australian Cricket Association hosts the annual Olly Cooley Medal on Friday evening, with plenty of contenders to take out the coveted award.

The award recognises the best individual performer throughout the home-and-away season of the Alcohol.Think Again Premier Cricket First Grade season, excluding finals and is voted on by the umpires after each game on a 3-2-1 basis.

We take a look at the top seven contenders for Premier Cricket’s best and fairest player.

Follow @WACA_Cricket or the hashtag #OCMedal on Twitter on Friday night to follow proceedings.

Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands)

David was the dominant player throughout the Premier Cricket season, with the Tigers all-rounder hammering 874 and claiming 18 wickets over the campaign. Scoring back-to-back hundreds against Joondalup and Midland-Guildford highlighted his season, with his century against University complementing his five-wicket haul in the same fixture. In all, David smashed three centuries and three fifties, to complete the season with an average of 62.

Chris Chellew (Fremantle)

Chellew was the other all-rounder to have a profound effect during the season, with his bowling performances keeping Fremantle in the race throughout the year. The former Cricket Superstar contender captured 42 wickets, including an incredible spell of 7-3 against Mount Lawley. His century against Wanneroo showed his prowess with the bat, opening before moving into the middle order.

Andrew Holder (Subiaco Floreat)

Holder was the surprise packet of the campaign, guiding his Lions side to the Premiership this season. The opening batsman turned fast bowler captured a season high 57 wickets, with a best of 6-41. A 10-wicket haul in round six against University demonstrated his danger, before 12 wickets in the last three rounds saw the quick push into medal contention.

Dan Lawrence (Wanneroo)

English product Lawrence was a star for Wanneroo this season, starting the campaign in blazing fashion, with a swashbuckling 140 against Melville. In total, the top-order batsman hit 750 runs in 14 games to dominate the competition. Despite the lean end to his season, expect Lawrence to be a chance come the final rounds.

Tom Abell (Fremantle)

One of the most consistent performers on the Premier Cricket circuit, Englishman Abell looks a good chance for another run at the medal. Abell’s 613 runs at 51 came from 14 games during the season. His 22 wickets were crucial to taking Fremantle to second place on the ladder. Two sparkling centuries against Melville and Scarborough showed his talent with bat in hand. Abell headed back to England early to captain Somerset, his future after Premier Cricket looks bright.

Stewart Walters (Midland-Guildford)

Despite only playing nine rounds for the season, last year’s winner Walters looks dangerous after smashing four centuries this season. Walters remarkable conversion rate saw a century every two games for the veteran, with his 153 against premiers Subiaco Floreat a season highlight. With many teammates struggling, Walters will take plenty of votes from the games he played.

Luis Reece (Gosnells)

It was another consistent year for the Gosnells captain, with 362 runs at an average of 30, whilst collecting 31 wickets at an average of 17. Reece started the season strongly gathering 17 wickets in the first six rounds, including a five-wicket haul against Scarborough. The Englishman’s 6-47 against the Premiers Subiaco Floreat also showed his prowess and could be a chance for the medal on Friday.


John Townsend (The West Australian)

1. Stewart Walters (Midland-Guildford), 2. Chris Chellew (Fremantle), 3. Andrew Holder (Subiaco Floreat), Roughie. Wes Robinson (Scarborough)

David Clear (91.3 Sport FM)

1. Chris Chellew (Fremantle), 2. Ryan Duffield (Melville), 3. Tom Abell (Fremantle), Roughie. Ed Barnard (Scarborough) 

Elliot Raiter (WACA)

1. Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands), 2. Chris Chellew (Fremantle), 3. Tom Abell (Fremantle), Roughie. Aaron Lilly (Subiaco Floreat)

Ben Somerford (WACA)

1. Chris Chellew (Fremantle), 2. Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands), 3. Luis Reece (Gosnells), Roughie. Ed Barnard (Scarborough)