David Wins 2016-17 Olly Cooley Medal
7 April 2017  

Emerging Claremont-Nedlands all-rounder Tim David has been crowned the 2016-17 Olly Cooley Medallist after a breakout 2016-17 Alcohol.Think Again WA Premier Cricket season.

The medal count for the best player in first grade WA Premier Cricket was held at the WACA Ground’s Boundary Room on Friday night, voted by the umpires on a 3-2-1 basis per each regular season game.

The 21-year-old polled 17 votes from seven matches, finishing two votes ahead of runner-up Robert Jones (15) from South Perth, with Fremantle’s Chris Chellew (13) and Gosnells’ Luis Reece (12) next.

David and Jones were locked on 15 votes heading into the final round, which coincidentally pitted Claremont-Nedlands against South Perth, while Fremantle’s match against Perth was abandoned leaving Chellew out of the race.

Jones had returned to England prior to Round 15 to play for Lancashire, meaning his only hope was to be a joint winner, but David polled two votes in the clash to secure the medal outright.

David becomes the first Tigers player to claim the top individual award since Wes Robinson triumphed in 2008.

The young all-rounder, who scored a century for Western Australia in his Toyota Futures League debut in February, also won the First Grade Batting Aggregate award after scoring 874 runs at an average of 62.43.

David also claimed 18 wickets with the ball, helping Claremont-Nedlands win the Kevin Sullivan Silver Cup and One Day League this season.

He was also named in the WADCC Team of the Year, along with team-mate Travis Birt.

Premiers Subiaco Floreat dominated the Team of the Year with players selected, with finals hero Chris Hansberry named the skipper alongside Alex Malcolm, Calum How and Andrew Holder. Hansberry and How were the only two members from last year’s Team of the Year to be selected again.

Claremont-Nedlands’ Tim Macdonald (pictured, right) won the Senior Coach of the Year award after winning the minor premiership and One Day League. The Tigers also won the Male Spirit of Cricket Award.

Nathan Johnstone won the best first grade umpire award while Jack Paterson claimed the Peter McConnell award for an umpire who has shown commitment and made significant progress in their individual development.

Midland-Guildford’s Dick Hutchison won the Premier Club Administrator of the Year award, while Subiaco Floreat won the Best Pitch award, with Mount Lawley’s Breckler Park 1 named the most improved pitch.

Fremantle’s Jake Carder, Subiaco Floreat’s Cameron Green and Rockingham-Mandurah’s Jordan Clark won the Media Guild Awards for Rising Star, Under 19 and Under 17 Player of the Years respectively.

South Perth’s WA rookie Alex Bevilaqua won the Allan Edwards Trophy for the most promising cricketer who has not played first class cricket and observes the spirit of cricket.

Olly Cooley Medal voting:

1. Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands) - 17

2. Robert Jones (South Perth) – 15

3. Chris Chellew (Fremantle) – 13

4. Luis Reece (Gosnells) - 12

5. Calum How (Subiaco Floreat), Stewart Walters (Midland-Guildford), Ryan Duffield (Melville), Edward Barnard (Scarborough) – 11

WADCC Team of the Year (pictured, below):

Alex Malcolm (Subiaco Floreat), Travis Birt (Claremont-Nedlands), Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands), Daniel Lawrence (Wanneroo), Dane Ugle (Rockingham-Mandurah), Callum Taylor (Mount Lawley), Calum How (wk) (Subiaco Floreat), Chris Chellew (Fremantle), Luis Reece (Gosnells), Chris Hansberry (c) (Subiaco Floreat), Andrew Holder (Subiaco Floreat), Matthew Hanna (Willetton)

Full list of awards:

Batting Average: Josh Inglis (Joondalup) 426 runs at 71.00

Batting Aggregate: Tim David (Claremont-Nedlands) 874 runs at 62.43

Bowling Average: Nathan Rimmington (Bayswater-Morley) 26 wickets at 14.77

Bowling Aggregate: Andrew Holder (Subiaco Floreat) 57 wickets at 18.51

Male Spirit of Cricket Award: Claremont-Nedlands

Senior Coach of the Year: Tim Macdonald (Claremont-Nedlands)

Allan Edwards Trophy: Alex Bevilaqua (South Perth)

Kookaburra Player of the Year: Chris Chellew (Fremantle)

JP Robbins Medal: Kip Cameron (Claremont-Nedlands)

Albert Ritchings Medal: Bryce Jeffery (Bayswater-Morley)

Allan Mackley Award: Timothy Adrichem (Wanneroo)

Best 1st Grade Umpire: Nathan Johnstone

Best 2nd Grade Umpire: Michael Kovalevs

Best 3rd Grade Umpire: Daniel Smith

Best 4th Grade Umpire: Stephen O’Dea

Peter McConnell Award: Jack Paterson

Media Guild Award – Rising Star Award: Jake Carder (Fremantle) (pictured, right)

Media Guild Award – Under 19 Player of the Year: Cameron Green (Subiaco Floreat)

Media Guild Award – Under 17 Player of the Year: Jordan Clark (Rockingham-Mandurah)

Best Pitch Award: Floreat Park Oval (Subiaco Floreat)

Most Improved Pitch Award: Breckler Park 1 (Mount Lawley – Neil McDonald)

Premier Club Administrator of the Year: Dick Hutchison (Midland-Guildford)